Welcome to the ACPA Seminar Series, a monthly webinar series including various topics of interest related to advancing the Chemical Profession in Alberta. For the next seminar in this series, we are happy to introduce Vladimir Michaelis for 'Perovskite and Perovskite-inspired Materials: A View from Solid-state and DNP NMR' on May 14, 2024. Each seminar will be eligible for 1 PDC credit.

Transitioning from legacy fossil fuels to alternatives will require a multipronged approach to accessing energy harvesting, storage, and reducing consumption. Metal halide perovskite and perovskite-inspired materials are emerging materials that satisfy these societal needs. These materials are rapidly evolving in complexity due to their immense chemical and synthetic variability possible at the A, B, or X sites, which can be further manipulated through dimensionality and size (i.e., bulk to nano). While perovskites are defect tolerant, they suffer from phase segregation and decomposition, often associated with moisture or heat. This unusual behaviour for hybrid and inorganic materials is rooted in intrinsic dynamics and local structural disorder, which is difficult to track via traditional diffraction approaches. Solid-state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy is a robust, non-destructive, and nucleus-specific characterization method for local- and medium-range atomic structure and dynamics that can fill in the missing clues needed to industrialize these materials for the future. This presentation will cover some emerging areas in physical, solid-state, and materials chemistry that are used to solve these materials' complex structure, dynamics, and their structure-property relationships. Specifically, the focus will be discussing how solid-state NMR, high-field dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP), and electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) are robust analytical characterization spectroscopies for materials.


6:45 - 6:59 PM MT - Networking

7:00 - 8:00 PM MT - Presentation and Q&A


Vladimir Michaelis

Vladimir Michaelis is an Associate Professor of Physical and Materials Chemistry at the University of Alberta. He completed his B.Sc. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Manitoba in 2006 and 2011, respectively. He pursued his research career as an NSERC PDF and Banting Postdoctoral Fellow in Chemistry and Plasma Science and Fusion at the Francis Bitter Magnet Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 2016, he joined the University of Alberta as an Assistant Professor and was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in 2020. He holds the Canada Research Chair in Magnetic Resonance of Advanced Materials, where his diverse research team conducts interdisciplinary research within the Chemistry Centre for Magnetic Resonance (C2MR) Facility. His specialty is the ability to discern, at the atomic level, how the atoms are arranged and are moving within materials for energy capture and conversion to biomaterials for human health. His team has contributed over 140 scientific publications; he received the CSC Fred Beamish Award in Analytical Spectroscopy and was highlighted as Analytical Scientists Top 40 under 40 Power List.


Admission: FREE

Registration Deadline: May 13, 2024

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

Register Today

If you have questions, contact the ACPA office at [email protected].