Arthur Bollo-Kamara Graduate Scholarship

The ACPA has established the Arthur Bollo-Kamara Scholarship as a memorial tribute to Arthur Bollo-Kamara, Ph.D., P.Chem., and the work he conducted on behalf of chemists in this province. This $1000 scholarship is awarded annually to a student registered in a graduate chemistry program at a university in the province of Alberta.

Arthur Bollo-Kamara came to Canada to earn his graduate degrees in chemistry and soon became an active volunteer for the chemical profession in Alberta. However, he was also a talented performer and maintained active participation in the arts and culture of his community. The scholarship award criteria are modeled on Arthur's life and are described below:

Academic Excellence (30 points)

The recipient must have achieved an average GPA of at least 3.0 on the 4-point scale (or equivalent) based on the three best one-semester graduate-level chemistry courses within the current course of studies. An original transcript must be submitted with the application for the scholarship.

Service to the Chemical Profession (20 points)

The recipient must have contributed to the chemical profession in Alberta by volunteering in a chemistry-related activity. Eligible volunteer activities include National Chemistry Week, science fairs, chemistry mentoring, chemistry graduate student associations, and boards or committees of professional chemist organizations such as your chemistry department, the ACPA or the Chemical Institute of Canada. Paid activities are ineligible.

Service to the Community (20 points)

The recipient must have contributed to the local community in Alberta through volunteer activities that demonstrate a community consciousness. Eligible volunteer activities include helping in nursing homes, food banks, charity fundraisers, environmental cleanups, or charitable agencies that assist people in need. Paid activities are ineligible.

Participation in Arts and Culture (30 points)

The recipient must be active in the arts or the cultural activities of his or her community or cultural heritage. Eligible cultural activities include achievement or significant participation in music, dance, drama, visual arts or creative writing.

The applicant must submit a letter (100 to 200 words in length) that describes the applicant's activities related to (i) service to the chemical profession, (ii) service to the community, and (iii) participation in arts and culture. Applicants must have points in each of these categories. Diversity of participation and service will be considered in the selection process. Leadership and teaching will be rated more highly than simple participation.

Names and telephone numbers of at least two people who can jointly verify the applicant's activities should be listed following the letter.

Copies of certificates, diplomas, awards, reference letters, or other documents that substantiate the activities described in the letter should be provided (if available).

Application Form

Scholarship Criteria

The transcripts, the letter, and the supporting documentation must be received by the ACPA no later than March 31:

Fax: 780-413-0076

E-mail: [email protected]


Arthur Bollo-Kamara Graduate Scholarship
Association of the Chemical Profession of Alberta
4447 99 Street NW
Edmonton, AB, T6E 5B6

This award is normally presented in person at the Annual General Meeting of the ACPA (held in May or June each year).

Past Winners

  • 2024 - Jayar Espejo (University of Calgary)
  • 2021 - Milanpreet Kaur (University of Calgary)
  • 2020 - Nicole Jankovic (University of Alberta)
  • 2019 - Alison Fulton (University of Calgary)
  • 2018 - Sophia Sarpong-Kumankomah (University of Calgary)
  • 2017 - Ebenezer Owusu-Ansah (University of Calgary)
  • 2016 - Connie Ye (University of Calgary)
  • 2015 - Ebenezer Owusu-Ansah (University of Calgary)
  • 2014 - SiRim Kim (University of Calgary)
  • 2013 - Breanne Kamenz (University of Lethbridge)
  • 2012 - Zonglin (Vincent) Yang (University of Alberta)
  • 2011 - Lydia Chen (University of Alberta)
  • 2010 - Matt Zamora (University of Alberta)

Prior to 2010, the Arthur Bollo-Kamara Scholarship was open to undergraduates as well:

  • 2009 - David Grewer (University of Alberta)
  • 2008 - Michael Gaultois (University of Alberta)
  • 2007 - Christine Mah (University of Calgary)
  • 2006 - Janet Macdonald (University of Alberta)