Frank W. Bachelor Award

The ACPA Frank W. Bachelor Award for Service to the Chemical Profession was established in 2004. This award recognizes outstanding volunteer contributions to the chemical profession in Alberta. The recipient of the award receives a plaque and complimentary professional membership in the ACPA for life provided that the recipient continues to meet the requirements for Professional Chemist status. This award is the highest honour of all ACPA awards.

The award is named in honour of Frank Bachelor, Ph.D., P.Chem., who was a founding member of the ACPA and its first president. Frank served on the ACPA Board of Directors for 12 years and as a member of the Registration Committee for even longer. A graduate of the University of California, Berkeley, Frank earned his Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Bachelor was a professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Calgary from 1963 to 1989.

The award was presented to Frank Bachelor in its inaugural year. Subsequent recipients are:

  • 2024 - Brian Tsang, P.Chem.
  • 2023 - Patrick Kamau, P.Chem.
  • 2022 - Kathy Janzen, P.Chem.
  • 2021 - Mark Rice, P.Chem.
  • 2020 - Nils Petersen, P.Chem.
  • 2019 - Maurice Shevalier, P.Chem.
  • 2018 - Chris Swyngedouw, P.Chem.
  • 2017 - Patrick Kalita, P.Chem.
  • 2016 - J.H.(Joe) Schulz, P.Chem.
  • 2015 – Norman Gee, P.Chem.
  • 2014 – Eugene Dakin, P.Chem.
  • 2013 – Robert Taylor, P.Chem.
  • 2012 – Laurier Schramm, P.Chem.
  • 2011 – Roger Cowles, P.Chem.
  • 2010 – Trent Parks, P.Chem.
  • 2009 – Ken Schmidt, P.Chem.
  • 2008 – Stan Backs, P.Chem.
  • 2007 – Dave Schwass, P.Chem.
  • 2006 – Don White, P.Chem.
  • 2005 – Kevin Dunn, P.Chem.

The ACPA Board of Directors considers nominees annually and, at their discretion, selects a worthy recipient. The name of the recipient is announced at the ACPA Annual General Meeting, and the plaque is normally presented at that time.

Congratulations to all winners, and thank you for your years of service to the chemistry profession in Alberta!

Nominees must have a good-standing membership with the ACPA to qualify. Please submit the completed nomination form below by April 1, 2025, at 3:00 PM MT for the 2025 Award.

Nominate Today